Altered Phases


Level 4

Duration 8:00

Movement 1 - Genesis

Movement 2 - Slow

Movement 3 - Dramatic


Flute 1, 2, 3

Oboe 1, 2

Bb Clarinet 1, 2, 3

Bb Bass Clarinet 

Bassoon 1, 2

Alto Saxophone 1, 2

Tenor Saxophone

Baritone Saxophone

Horn 1, 2, 3, 4

Bb Trumpet 1, 2, 3

Trombone 1, 2, 3




Percussion 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Program Note

Commissioned by the O'Fallon High School Band (Melissa Gustafson-Hinds, director) this suite is based on a single rhythmic cell and a five note grouping that is altered and phased throughout the course of the three movements in the true style of a suite. With all harmony and motives being extracted from these simple seeds, the composition retains a sense of familiarity while continuing to engage the listener and performer. Harmonies phase in and out while sounding both familiar and exotic at the same time. While the compositional materials and evolution were planned before writing the score, the actual title “Altered Phases” was added well after completion. This title, in some fashion, summarizes the overall concept of the composition. 


Please scroll down to the bottom of this page to listen. 

Select "play" and listen while you peruse this page. 

Purchasing Information

You may purchase this music through PayPal (below) accepting all major credit cards. 

If you would prefer to purchase by check, please use the contact portal on this website to communicate your order. 


Altered Phases

Pay with PayPal or a debit/credit card

Wind Band composition in 3 Movements 

by Robert W. Rumbelow 

Movement 1 - Genesis

Movement 2 - Slow

Movement 3 - Dramatic

Upon completion of your order, you will receive PDF score and parts for the sole use of the purchasing organization, school, or conductor.  ($200 US Dollars)


Altered Phases

O'Fallon High School Band

Robert W. Rumbelow, conducting